BP7 Making Music in Garage Band

Making Music In Garage Band

Brief Overview:  The intent of this lesson is to help students understand how to create Digital Music in Garage Band. Students will make music and then share their projects with other classmates on an I pad.

Target Audience:  The target audience of this lesson will be Middle School Band students. They are second year band students who are learning to play music on their instruments.

  • The connection of this is in the problem solving skills, which is relevant to their success in being well-rounded students in society.
  • This content can be applied when dealing with mathematical scenarios, such as counting money and problem solving.
  • The purpose of understanding this process is to help student do critical thinking. I want the students to create fun and entertaining projects.

Materials

Computer

Music Sheets

Objective: At the end of this lesson my students will be able to create different combination of digital loops in Garage Band.

  •  These songs will be written and preformed in Garage Band by each student.
  •  Each song must correctly have a combination of harmony rhythm and bass.
  •  All songs will be transferred and converted from Garage Band to a portable I pad.

Procedure

At the beginning of the lesson we will explore a completed project, I will briefly build backwards to explain how to correctly place different combinations of loops in the target area.  After this is done, we will look at other types of musical styles to give the song a since of creativity and expression.  The completion of this leads me into showing the students how to create songs using loops based on this format.

Emerging Technology Garage Band

Social Participation/Social Learning

One of the activities I’m planning to do is having the students create a song that will be preformed on their instruments. I will group the students in groups of fours according to their instruments and have them write a complete piece of music in the correct time signature.

  • Write the song
  • Preform it
  • Evaluate how to improve on it

Making Connections

The learner will make connections with prior experience playing their instruments from last year.  Each already understands how to read music.  They will connect their understanding of reading notes to playing the rhythms on their instrument.

The relevancy of this assignment helps bring the connection of reading music together.

They will use this information after completed to help other students globally read and create music.  We will create a blog using word press to get feedback on how the songs they created sounded.

Create/Produce

The learners will create a song that is to published and played on an I pad.

Assessment: There are two things I’m going to evaluate them on

Creativity

Rhythmic originality

Reflection

I will use a Rubric, Designed by me; it will measure critical area of music such as counting, reading and continuity. I will probe the classroom, as the students are working and record in my rubric plan on how I can improve on the 3 critical areas in music.  The Goal is to create critical music thinkers.

Here is my video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JlHnCqxmbkA

3 thoughts on “BP7 Making Music in Garage Band

  1. vinryan says:

    I like that you selected GarageBand. The reason that I liked your selection is that I used to be a music composition major. Therefore, I can relate to the subject matter as both a learner and a educator. I appreciate how his video was brief but seems to give enough information.

    One thing about your lesson plan made me wonder was your choices in terminology. For example, I got a bit confused when you “mentioned 8 to 16 count song”. Though it has been many years since I have…tolerated music theory wouldn’t a “8 to 16 measure composition” be more concise?

    Overall, I liked your RILS. To bring this up a notch, I was wondering if you had another presentation or video that went into more detail of the procedure or the learner’s experience?

  2. […] Hi folks, While digging around ES, I noticed Lewis Patton’s RILS on Making Music with GarageBand. Music software has always fascinated me since I used to major in music. If you are a musician or like to play around with audio tracks then I suggest that you take a look at this. His RILS link is at http://educatorstudio.com/lessons/making-music-garage-band and also posted to his blog. […]

Leave a comment